Meet The Author: Zoraida Cordova, Labyrinth Lost - Interview + Giveaway

Hi Everyone!

Welcome to another day of Meet The Authors! I can't tell you HOW excited I am that SO MANY authors that I admire agreed to be on the blog *dies in happiness*

I have with me today Zoraida Cordova, author of the WONDERFUL book, Labyrinth Lost. Set in Brooklyn, this wonderful book is all about Magic, Witches, Death and Family, pitched as perfect for fans of Beautiful Creatures and Daughter of Smoke and Bone!

Zoirada has awesomely answered some questions about her book and is also hosting an international giveaway, so be sure to check it out!

Welcome to the blog, Zoraida. It is SO AWESOME to have you here!

We'd Love To Get To Know More About You:


1. What would your dream house look like and where would it be?
My dream house would be in the middle of nowhere, but near a body of water. I'd want to be surrounded by trees. An art studio is a must. I also would like to have my own personal Spartan challenges and rig up my yard like a maze of challenges.  

2. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?
I'd want to ability to turn items into fully cooked meals. Like the Midas touch. Except instead of turning items into gold, I'd turn them into New York pizza or a giant filet mignon with butter. 

3. If you could have written one book other than yours, it would be?
Six of Crows. That duology is all kinds of brilliant. I love Leigh Bardugo's mind (and face). 

And now, moving onto your masterpiece:

4. Where did you get the idea for Labyrinth Lost?
A friend of mine told me stories of watching his family practice Santeria. I didn't want to use Santeria proper, but I did start thinking about a magical system that centered around a matriarchy of witches. Most magical stories are rooted in western Europe. My magical system is a product of colonization, which is why the Mortiz family in Labyrinth Lost has roots in different Latin American countries. 

5. If Labyrinth Lost had a theme song, what would it be?
Riptide by Vance Joy 

6. If you could give one piece of advice to your characters, it would be:
Protect your magic. 

Zoraida C√≥rdova is the author of The Vicious Deep trilogy, the On the Verge series, and Labyrinth Lost. She loves black coffee, snark, and still believes in magic. She is a New Yorker at heart and is currently working on her next novel. Send her a tweet @Zlikeinzorro

Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas, #1)Title: Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas #1)  
Author: Zoraida Cordova
Publication Date: September 6th 2016
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Part of a Series?: Yes, Book 1/3 of the Brooklyn Brujas Trilogy
Blurb Description: Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.
I fall to my knees. Shattered glass, melted candles and the outline of scorched feathers are all that surround me. Every single person who was in my house – my entire family — is gone.
Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.
The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…
Beautiful Creatures meets Daughter of Smoke and Bone with an infusion of Latin American tradition in this highly original fantasy adventure.

a Rafflecopter giveaway